41 comments on “Difference between Android 2.3 (Gingerbread) and Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich)

  1. Good work…
    This comparison helped me alot, because I had no idea in that comparison, except I knew that ICE cream is the newer, but without pointing in which aspects is it newer… Then thank you.
    I would like to know if you SonyEricsson will release the Rom that can support Ice cream on Xperia x10….
    nahassan2000ALTgmail.com

    • until now, X10 got the ICS but unofficial port….MAYBE it will get the official one later this year, but i don’t work for SE so i cant guaranty you anything…just try to search more if they will update X10. Cheers

  2. I have a DROID BIONIC and I was issued the upgrade about an hour ago. Waiting until I get home to install the ICS. I’ve prayed that it’ll get some of the bugs outta this “brick.” Had it about four months and have already had to send it back to Motorola for the crazy stuff it does on its own. Hopefully this will help. Thanks for the information. Regards, Richard

  3. As per my knowledge Gingerbred was released on december 2010 not on december 2011…

  4. plz help me.m new to mobile world.i used to own nokia but m planning to shift to android . Does the android screen resolution matter like in nokia phones ? I changed cell so many times dissatisfied with my screen resolution n had to download new apps n games compatible with it.android is very popular but also expensive in my country,nepal.so,i want to know which screen resolution apps are moatly available in android or other market?cannot afford a tablet so decided to try samsung y or pop or galaxy 5 inatead . Some suggestions would be highly appreciated . Please mail me @ rebel.techfreak@gmail.com if you really want to help.thanks in advance !

    • no, its not important so much the screen resolution on android….almost all apps are working for all resolutions, so you dont have to think of this.

  5. Good comparision… is compatible to galaxy note? When can i upgrade it in India?

  6. Hello,can someone help me i’m very excited with android and i’m very confuse,which phone should i buy Samsung galaxy y or micromax.
    Please help me n thnks for advance

  7. I am planning to buy a new Samsung Galaxy Note Soon which is based on 2.3 Gingerbird version. My question is that can I upgrade its older android version with new Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0 version.If any one sure then tell me the exact.

      • that means you are saying SG Note is now coming with new software version that is Ice cream sandwich 4.0, Are you 100% sure buddy & one more question which one is better either S3 or Note taking price as main part. Which one is better if both have based on same version in all type either in a battery and overall usages. Which one is the best?

      • yes, note is getting ics, but as a better phone SGS3 is better…note is bigger …think it as a smaller SG Tab 🙂

  8. In android 2.3 or 4.0 which one is better for a normal user. I am planing for htc icecreame sandwitch pls advice.

  9. I am looking to get a new phone and am not sure which one would be better. I like the Galaxy SII epic 4G touch and the HTC EVO 4G LTE but between the two, I am not sure which one would be the better phone. Any suggestions?
    Thanks!!

  10. Thanks for,
    This comparison helped me alot, because I had no idea in that comparison, except I knew that ICE cream is the newer, but without pointing in which aspects is it newer… Then thank you

  11. gingerbread does have ability to dismiss single notifications-at least on my R2D2 Droid

  12. I’m using HTC Sensation XE which currently 2.3.4 version, but can upgrade to version 4.
    should I upgrade to version 4 or keep it to 2.3.4 ? May I konw the pro and con of upgreding to version 4. Thank you.

  13. Guyz i am finding loads of hanging issue in my note and the phone takes time to switch application. The day i bought my note i upgraded to 4.3 and now 4.4. But still i am not satisfied with this and i am planning to downgrade to 2.3 as i think that is only meant for note and all these are third party software which is not officaly released by samsung. Rest its all a gamble. You might see loads of people updating there reviews but i didnt find any thread or blog which shows hang problem with 2.3 in note. Cheers

  14. Thanks. I really don’t know the difference between android 2.3. and android 4 until now. Helps me alot…

    • unfortunately the Galaxy Ace is not compatible with ICS, however, if you are open to flashing your phone you can check CyanogenMod website for a newer version of Android, thou i can not guaranty you that it is available

Leave a comment